As I See It
As I See It
Sonidos del Valle
0:00
-0:45

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of As I See It

Sonidos del Valle

#1: Guitar ensemble, university symphony, traditional Irish music, flute ensemble in chapel

The Rio Grande Valley of deep south Texas is full of culture and color. Its highest expression no doubt lies within the sphere of classical music, fostered and nourished for decades, at nonprofits and universities, supervised by masters and virtuosos from around the globe and the region itself.

The last few weeks I attended some magnificent symphonic concerts in Edinburg. I even played in a couple of small concerts in McAllen this past weekend, as part of my music career in the world of traditional Irish music, which I’ve been engaged in since 2022.

Get 50% off for 1 year

I grew up playing music at my church in McAllen. I loved it and learned a lot. For a few short years, I played in band, in middle school. During college and

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to As I See It to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

As I See It
As I See It
Essays, articles, commentary, research by Rio Grande Valley-based journalist, activist, musician, Jonathan Salinas.